For muslims, it is haram to consume alcohol. However, now exists non-alcoholic beer, which looks exactly like beer and can be bought at Carrefour for RM2++... There is also a 'Halal' logo on the bottle. I am not sure whether it is allowed to imitate beer drinking with something very similar to it.
"What purpose is it for (the Halal beer)? To imitate people togok arak but in Muslim way?"
Julie Zac, Costing Engineer, Terengganu.
In America, non-alcoholic beer is something of a worry to parents, since some perceive it as "training beer" for their teenage children. They call it "near beer" and actually contains .5% alcohol by volume. Please refer article by Jonathan Agley: Non-Alcoholic Beer. However, I am not saying that the 'Halal' beer at Carrefour contains alcohol. Maybe it will bring fitnah if we are not careful. So I asked an ustaz to explain on this matter.
"Beer is haram because it contains alcohol (or any other substance) that causes intoxication. Without those substance, the drink is then halal. From my point of view, it is halal but using similar bottles to actual beer should not happen because it will cause fitnah to the community who are not aware on the existense of said drink."
Ustaz Zalani, Terengganu.